innerkillo.blogg.se

Remix os installation tool doesnt see my usb drive
Remix os installation tool doesnt see my usb drive












  1. #REMIX OS INSTALLATION TOOL DOESNT SEE MY USB DRIVE INSTALL#
  2. #REMIX OS INSTALLATION TOOL DOESNT SEE MY USB DRIVE UPDATE#

#REMIX OS INSTALLATION TOOL DOESNT SEE MY USB DRIVE INSTALL#

Install the OS and run updates several times. The magic -> USB UEFI is one of the options Which doesn't usually happen, so PAD away (oh yeah also your pointer is a good bit (0.5-1 cm for me) higher up than what you'd expect it to be, so might want to get used to that or fiddle with the window size.

#REMIX OS INSTALLATION TOOL DOESNT SEE MY USB DRIVE UPDATE#

Hit F9 until you see the boot sequence options After the first run, everything should work fine from then on unless a new update or something does something weird. Move through the pages to find and disable "Secure Boot"į10 Save Changes & Exit - this will restart the machine Power on and hit F10 until you're in the config screen (If you're replacing a drive to install a new OS - do that here)

remix os installation tool doesnt see my usb drive

This makes a small FAT32 UEFI partition and puts the rest of the ISO in an NTFS partition Run Rufus with the "GPT for UEFI" option to create the drive Get a FRESH USB drive with at least 8GB capacity. Here are all steps for anyone else reading:ĭownload the latest portable Rufus instance: ĭownload the latest Windows 10 ISO (I got mine through an MSDN subscription, but there are other MS sources) Rufus will automatically create a very small FAT32 partition on the USB that is recognized in an F9 list, then puts the rest of the ISO on an NTFS partition. I was able to create a Rufus image using "GPT for UEFI" and the latest Windows ISO (1709 updated in 12/2017). It seems the original USB drive was bad after all. In a fit of desperation, I tried another USB drive - this one 64GB instead of 8GB. It was working for hours before finally failing with a non-specific error. As part of the installation tool, youll be prompted to select a language, an edition of Windows, and an architecture for the setup process. I tried the Media Creation Tool from Microsoft. Double-click the 'MediaCreationTool' EXE file, click Yes when prompted, accept any terms, and fill out any on-screen sections until you get to the installation section. I'd appreciate if you made sure to read everything I wrote and not make me repeat what's already been tried. I feel I've done my homework here but still reached a dead end. Please focus on why the USB drive is not being recognized.

remix os installation tool doesnt see my usb drive

Since the USB drive was never recognized as a bootable device, I was never able to format the SSD or load the OS. Still not recognized.Īdditionally, I was able to use the same USB drive in another laptop and it was recognized as a bootable device. I also made sure that the USB options were ABOVE the drive options for boot order. Rufus: MBR for BIOS & UEFI-CSM/MBT for UEFI/GPT for UEFI - but only NTFS formatting since Win10 ISO is greater than 4GB it CANNOT be FAT32 I tried all BIOS/UEFI permutations of the following (I made a chart and checked each one off): I created a Rufus-based bootable USB drive for Windows 10 圆4. But, my issue is that I cannot get the USB key to be recognized as a bootable device. I am trying to ugrade the HDD to a Samsung 860 EVO SATA SSD. I purchased this laptop from Costco as a Christmas gift.














Remix os installation tool doesnt see my usb drive